September 18, 7 min read

7 ad performance measures for mobile campaigns and traffic

Here are top 7 ad performance metrics that will help you track mobile campaigns and traffic you run with affiliates.

When you are comfortable with measuring ad performance, you are able to track and optimize traffic in a way that increases revenue and gives control over your mobile campaigns. You will waste the time and money if you don’t understand what traffic source performs better for your campaign and what channels should be disabled immediately. Here are top 7 ad performance metrics that will help you track mobile campaigns and traffic you run with affiliates.


When you read a digital magazine or blog post online, do you look through all the ads in the post or you just scroll it down quickly? You are likely to pay attention to the most appealing content on the page, like blazing pictures or catchy headlines. This is the work of performance-based marketing.


Everything you do in your business has to deliver return on investments or ROI. And this is the place where performance metrics comes into effect. All your marketing efforts should be rewarded. An appealing ad will boost the performance of your campaign. But how to measure whether you ad campaign is effective? In this case you need a good ad performance metric system.



Click Through Rate (CTR)

CTR is one of the basic ad performance measures for mobile campaigns and traffic. It determines the quality of an ad in terms of how appealing it was for target audience. CTRs allow to compare different traffic channels and evaluate their effectiveness, helping advertisers to focus on top-performing placements.

Mathematically, you can calculate CTR by dividing the number of times your creative (banner, video, interstitial, text link, etc.) has been clicked through by a user, by the number of times the ad has been shown to the user.



CTR helps assess the feasibility of a mobile advertising campaign. The more qualitative ad is, the higher CTRs it will generate, and therefore the more users it will attract.

However, CTR should be used in combination with other performance metrics for more accurate measurement of mobile advertising.

Conversion Rate (CR)

Conversion is a result of the investment into a traffic. It shows you the quantity of users (future clients) that are interested in your product. Strictly speaking, it shows how good the marketing performance is. Conversion goal doesn’t mension sale, it can include an increase of user engagement or a generation of leads. The goal also can be: subscription, fill in a form, watch the video, etc. In case of leads you can also calculate Lead Generation Rate and Lead Conversion Rate. But first, let’s find out the meaning of LGR and LCR. 


Source: Venturi-web-design.com

Lead Generation Rate (LGR)

LGR describes the marketing process which has an intent to seize the interest in a product or service you advertise. If you want to develop your sales funnel, LGR is the first thing you need to pay attention to. Instead of focusing on customers with mass advertising and email shockwave, better build your ad campaign on continuous relationships with purchasers. Track and optimize your traffic to attract and qualify leads. Being able to measure the effectiveness of every lead generation channel gives you a great benefit.

Lead Conversion Rate (LCR)

If you want to perform profitable advertising campaigns and not just spend your budget on traffic, then you need to measure Lead Conversion Rate. Conversion measures the rate of activity that creates a lead, which means how many leads were captured during the lifecycle of your ad campaign. To calculate lead conversion rate you need to divide leads converted to sales by total leads and multiply by 100.

Retention Rate (RR)

Retention rate is an index of consumer loyalty. It helps to analyze the effectiveness of your business strategy, or what percentage of the customers stay with you for a while. The percentage of the retention and the coefficient of clients outflow help to understand the behavior of your consumers, forecast their quantity in the future, and analyze the results of the ad campaign to improve its performance.

Cost Per Lead (CPL)

Cost Per Lead (CPL) shows detailed insights of the CPL offers and it also helps to measure the effectiveness of your overall marketing strategy. The total number of leads helps to determine the value of your mobile ad campaign.


Let’s say you decided to spend $1,000 on your cost per click campaign and 10 users converted to leads. In this case your cost per lead is $100. A literate marketing campaign will help you not to overpay as $100 for a lead and have good results. Identifying the most effective cost per lead is one of the advantages of tracking ad performance and KPIs. 

Social Metrics

Whether or not you are using social media platforms for your business, you probably write posts, share tweets or update images, etc. And sure you know that every social media platform offers its in-house analytic system to track the traffic and make the statistics. 

You can track:

  • Weekly traffic
  • Most popular post
  • New followers or connections
  • Likes, shares and comments that you generate. 

Social metrics should include information about followers, likes, comments, retweets, channel visits, subscribers to analyze your relevance to your social media platform.

Measuring mobile ad performance with conversion funnel


Conversion funnel is a great marketing tool for assessing ad campaigns and traffic against a range of performance metrics. In a typical conversion funnel for mobile advertising, user goes through the following stages:


1. Impression.

They are measured by CPM. You can calculate cost per thousand advertising impression by dividing the cost of advertising placement by the number of impressions. 


2. Click.

Clicks show you the number of times people clicked on your app. Clicks help you understand how good is your ad campaign.

Click through rate or CTR expressed as a percentage. CTR shows you the number of clicks on your ad divided by the number of times your ad was shown. 

Cost per click or CPC is an advertising model used to direct traffic on your app. To measure it you have to divide advertising cost by number of the clicks on your ad. 


3. Install. 

Cost Per Install or CPI is an ad metric that shows you app install cost. It shows you a rate of budget of ad campaign to the total number of successful application settings on mobile devices. Advertiser pays only for installs of his app. 

Conversion Rate or CR shows how many users decided to install your app or do other tasks such as: subscription, see the video and so on. 


4. Engagement

Engagement shows you the number of users that are involved with your ad in any number of ways such as: viewing, sharing, voting, commenting, reviewing, playing a game. 

Cost Per Engagement or CPE rate evaluates cost of performance to online advertising. To calculate how much engagement costs, divide total amount of money used to achieve the engagement by total measured engagements.  


At the first stage of the funnel, you always get a max number of potential buyers, and with every further stage down the funnel you get fewer leads. It means that on every milestone the quantity of visitors will be less than on the previous one. If you want to increase the quantity of actual buyers, you should work hard on the funnel stages that give you less clients. 




    Factors that drive ad performance: 

    Targeting. The deeper targeting is, the more chances are out there to get users. If you set a narrow amount of targeting the quantity of impressions, clicks etc will fall down, but the CPE rate will increase.   

    Type of source. There are four sources of the traffic:


    Organic. This type means visitors that found your app without any payments for ad as unpaid search results.


    Social. This type of traffic comes from social media platforms and social networks. 


    Referral. This type refers visitors to your site from the links that appear on different sites. 


    Affiliate type of traffic includes different sites that are common in affiliate space and highlights the offers. 


    Creatives help to stand out among other ads. A more appealing creative (banner, video, other materials) is likely to improve your mobile campaign. 


    Incent vs Non-incent. Which type of traffic is better: incent or non-incent? Let’s find out. The main goal of incent traffic is to get a high number of installs of an app in a short time. Those users are cheap and have a high CR but a low rate of engagement. However, targeting options of Evertrack allow you to boost a number of installs and can help you to rise the position of your app on AppStore charts. As for non-incent traffic, it allows you to engage targeted audience by a data-driven granular approach. 


    Over to you

    Mobile customer engagement is the future of marketing. The telephone is more private thing than a computer according to the psychologists. That’s why information displayed on mobile is more interesting. It opens new opportunities for targeting. With the right analytic tool marketing can bring you the success.



    Affiliate marketing is a very useful way to increase your income and promote your product or services. Evertrack is an affiliate tracking platform with convenient interface and extensive features set. It’s a SaaS platform for managing publishers, advertisers, employees, traffic, revenues and other assets within your CPA network. Evertrack allows to run Cost Per Action campaigns, measure ad performance in real-time, and optimize for sources that generate high conversion rates.



    September 18, 7 min read

    7 ad performance measures for mobile campaigns and traffic

    Here are top 7 ad performance metrics that will help you track mobile campaigns and traffic you run with affiliates.

    When you are comfortable with measuring ad performance, you are able to track and optimize traffic in a way that increases revenue and gives control over your mobile campaigns. You will waste the time and money if you don’t understand what traffic source performs better for your campaign and what channels should be disabled immediately. Here are top 7 ad performance metrics that will help you track mobile campaigns and traffic you run with affiliates.


    When you read a digital magazine or blog post online, do you look through all the ads in the post or you just scroll it down quickly? You are likely to pay attention to the most appealing content on the page, like blazing pictures or catchy headlines. This is the work of performance-based marketing.


    Everything you do in your business has to deliver return on investments or ROI. And this is the place where performance metrics comes into effect. All your marketing efforts should be rewarded. An appealing ad will boost the performance of your campaign. But how to measure whether you ad campaign is effective? In this case you need a good ad performance metric system.



    Click Through Rate (CTR)

    CTR is one of the basic ad performance measures for mobile campaigns and traffic. It determines the quality of an ad in terms of how appealing it was for target audience. CTRs allow to compare different traffic channels and evaluate their effectiveness, helping advertisers to focus on top-performing placements.

    Mathematically, you can calculate CTR by dividing the number of times your creative (banner, video, interstitial, text link, etc.) has been clicked through by a user, by the number of times the ad has been shown to the user.



    CTR helps assess the feasibility of a mobile advertising campaign. The more qualitative ad is, the higher CTRs it will generate, and therefore the more users it will attract.

    However, CTR should be used in combination with other performance metrics for more accurate measurement of mobile advertising.

    Conversion Rate (CR)

    Conversion is a result of the investment into a traffic. It shows you the quantity of users (future clients) that are interested in your product. Strictly speaking, it shows how good the marketing performance is. Conversion goal doesn’t mension sale, it can include an increase of user engagement or a generation of leads. The goal also can be: subscription, fill in a form, watch the video, etc. In case of leads you can also calculate Lead Generation Rate and Lead Conversion Rate. But first, let’s find out the meaning of LGR and LCR. 


    Source: Venturi-web-design.com

    Lead Generation Rate (LGR)

    LGR describes the marketing process which has an intent to seize the interest in a product or service you advertise. If you want to develop your sales funnel, LGR is the first thing you need to pay attention to. Instead of focusing on customers with mass advertising and email shockwave, better build your ad campaign on continuous relationships with purchasers. Track and optimize your traffic to attract and qualify leads. Being able to measure the effectiveness of every lead generation channel gives you a great benefit.

    Lead Conversion Rate (LCR)

    If you want to perform profitable advertising campaigns and not just spend your budget on traffic, then you need to measure Lead Conversion Rate. Conversion measures the rate of activity that creates a lead, which means how many leads were captured during the lifecycle of your ad campaign. To calculate lead conversion rate you need to divide leads converted to sales by total leads and multiply by 100.

    Retention Rate (RR)

    Retention rate is an index of consumer loyalty. It helps to analyze the effectiveness of your business strategy, or what percentage of the customers stay with you for a while. The percentage of the retention and the coefficient of clients outflow help to understand the behavior of your consumers, forecast their quantity in the future, and analyze the results of the ad campaign to improve its performance.

    Cost Per Lead (CPL)

    Cost Per Lead (CPL) shows detailed insights of the CPL offers and it also helps to measure the effectiveness of your overall marketing strategy. The total number of leads helps to determine the value of your mobile ad campaign.


    Let’s say you decided to spend $1,000 on your cost per click campaign and 10 users converted to leads. In this case your cost per lead is $100. A literate marketing campaign will help you not to overpay as $100 for a lead and have good results. Identifying the most effective cost per lead is one of the advantages of tracking ad performance and KPIs. 

    Social Metrics

    Whether or not you are using social media platforms for your business, you probably write posts, share tweets or update images, etc. And sure you know that every social media platform offers its in-house analytic system to track the traffic and make the statistics. 

    You can track:

    • Weekly traffic
    • Most popular post
    • New followers or connections
    • Likes, shares and comments that you generate. 

    Social metrics should include information about followers, likes, comments, retweets, channel visits, subscribers to analyze your relevance to your social media platform.

    Measuring mobile ad performance with conversion funnel


    Conversion funnel is a great marketing tool for assessing ad campaigns and traffic against a range of performance metrics. In a typical conversion funnel for mobile advertising, user goes through the following stages:


    1. Impression.

    They are measured by CPM. You can calculate cost per thousand advertising impression by dividing the cost of advertising placement by the number of impressions. 


    2. Click.

    Clicks show you the number of times people clicked on your app. Clicks help you understand how good is your ad campaign.

    Click through rate or CTR expressed as a percentage. CTR shows you the number of clicks on your ad divided by the number of times your ad was shown. 

    Cost per click or CPC is an advertising model used to direct traffic on your app. To measure it you have to divide advertising cost by number of the clicks on your ad. 


    3. Install. 

    Cost Per Install or CPI is an ad metric that shows you app install cost. It shows you a rate of budget of ad campaign to the total number of successful application settings on mobile devices. Advertiser pays only for installs of his app. 

    Conversion Rate or CR shows how many users decided to install your app or do other tasks such as: subscription, see the video and so on. 


    4. Engagement

    Engagement shows you the number of users that are involved with your ad in any number of ways such as: viewing, sharing, voting, commenting, reviewing, playing a game. 

    Cost Per Engagement or CPE rate evaluates cost of performance to online advertising. To calculate how much engagement costs, divide total amount of money used to achieve the engagement by total measured engagements.  


    At the first stage of the funnel, you always get a max number of potential buyers, and with every further stage down the funnel you get fewer leads. It means that on every milestone the quantity of visitors will be less than on the previous one. If you want to increase the quantity of actual buyers, you should work hard on the funnel stages that give you less clients. 




      Factors that drive ad performance: 

      Targeting. The deeper targeting is, the more chances are out there to get users. If you set a narrow amount of targeting the quantity of impressions, clicks etc will fall down, but the CPE rate will increase.   

      Type of source. There are four sources of the traffic:


      Organic. This type means visitors that found your app without any payments for ad as unpaid search results.


      Social. This type of traffic comes from social media platforms and social networks. 


      Referral. This type refers visitors to your site from the links that appear on different sites. 


      Affiliate type of traffic includes different sites that are common in affiliate space and highlights the offers. 


      Creatives help to stand out among other ads. A more appealing creative (banner, video, other materials) is likely to improve your mobile campaign. 


      Incent vs Non-incent. Which type of traffic is better: incent or non-incent? Let’s find out. The main goal of incent traffic is to get a high number of installs of an app in a short time. Those users are cheap and have a high CR but a low rate of engagement. However, targeting options of Evertrack allow you to boost a number of installs and can help you to rise the position of your app on AppStore charts. As for non-incent traffic, it allows you to engage targeted audience by a data-driven granular approach. 


      Over to you

      Mobile customer engagement is the future of marketing. The telephone is more private thing than a computer according to the psychologists. That’s why information displayed on mobile is more interesting. It opens new opportunities for targeting. With the right analytic tool marketing can bring you the success.



      Affiliate marketing is a very useful way to increase your income and promote your product or services. Evertrack is an affiliate tracking platform with convenient interface and extensive features set. It’s a SaaS platform for managing publishers, advertisers, employees, traffic, revenues and other assets within your CPA network. Evertrack allows to run Cost Per Action campaigns, measure ad performance in real-time, and optimize for sources that generate high conversion rates.



      2018 © Evertrack. All rights reserved.Terms and Conditions.

      2018 © Evertrack.All rights reserved
      Terms and Conditions.